My Web Video Adventures#J560

 

 

My first web video was terrifying. After spending years in filmmaking, a web video should come so easy to me. Plus, all filmmaking is filmmaking so I figured it could not be as difficult as making a full length film. However, I worried about having the right equipment, the right lighting, who would write the script, proper filming locations, if final cut pro edits web videos, selecting wardrobe changes, and hiring hair and makeup personnel. In addition, I worried about filming in the right place at the right time, to get the right look, and the right shot to make the perfect video. Needless to say, I flopped at the web video perfection idea. Feeling immobilized and overcome with fear, I did what anybody else would you who had a question, I went to Google. Google instructed me on how to film a video using your iPhone or Android, how to edit, and how to upload your video to YouTube. There was no need to feel intimidated or like a complete first grader because first graders know how to make videos on their phones and do it all the time in 2016.

 

 

Film day went surprisingly smooth after four tries. Choosing to film in my car was easy because, I could control the light and sound very well. My hand shook often making my picture bounce. With my voice trembling in the first takes, eventually I mastered conversing with my imaginary friend on the other side of the phone. Now I thought, I could edit the masterpiece quickly and easily. However, I did not download the editing app. With many to choose from, IMovie won me over. Finding music and stock photos proved not a problem, plus adding them onto the movie was a breeze. With all the video assets in IMovie, I just added the credits in the front and the tail end of the project and finished it. Running the movie through playback, I noticed some timing issues that needed attention. Double checking your work several times is very important to any project. After fixing the edits, I played the video and it appeared ready to upload. In the articles I found, I missed the part about how long the upload process takes. Uploads take forever.

After completing my first video and making so many mistakes, I can say that it was so much worth the journey, because I’m open to learning new things, not afraid to ask questions and I don’t mind making mistakes. Mistakes are your friend, if you learn from them. However with my final video project coming up, I need to understand a few tricks. How can I improve on my orientation, lighting, and steady of web video filmmaking?  Paul Sawers wrote a great article on “How to Shoot Videos on your Android: Tips, Video Editing Apps and Publishing Platforms.

First, I will correct in my orientation, lighting, and camera steady techniques. I did not remember Web Video 101, the simplest rule-of-thumb is to always flip your phone and film in landscape mode for orientation.  Sawers mentioned that while filming in portrait can be fine for viewing back on your device, if you want to avoid those dreaded black bars down the side of your skit on YouTube, treat portrait like the plague.

 

Filming in the car appeared probably amateurish. If I had filmed outside using natural light with the sun behind me, my shots would look more professional. Sawers recommends position the subjects of your filming so that the camera is nearest the window and it captures the light shining on to the subject. It doesn’t have to be natural light of course. If you do have a very well-lit room from electric lighting, it can work just fine. During the editing project, I dubbed in music. Although filming in the car, it was not the best for lighting, my audio worked fine. Next time, I will shoot outside in my backyard or some quiet location to avoid unwanted sounds too. Sawer mentions how important location is when it comes to filming without an external mic.

In my upcoming project, I will purchase a tripod because my hand shakes making my videos unsteady. Steady hands keep viewers from feeling motion sickness or the Blair Witch Effect. Sawer mentioned the human hand’s propensity to jitter like a jitterbug when holding a phone aloft is well known, and it should be avoided if possible.

He shared a few techniques to minimize shaking like holding the camera with both hands, and keeping your elbows as close to your body as possible, preferably rested on your waist – this provides the necessary support your arms need.

In summary, with new tricks up my sleeve, I feel equipped to knock the next video out of the park and into YouTube history.

 

 

 

 


Leave a comment